An Ebay beauty

Profilic enthusiast Dbrmuz has been alerting readers to reasonably priced secondhand Sharx-featured car radios listed on Ebay.

So what rare goodies can FMdxing find on Ebay Australia?

How about a secondhand Creative Labs Zen Plus media player for $46 delivered? The Zen Plus plays MP3, WMA and even uncompressed Wave files. Some video playback is supported. More impressive this device will easily record whatever DX audio you feed via the Line-In cable whether it is from your Tecsun portable FM radio, portable DAB+ radio or component tuner. Recordings are encoded at 160 kbps Windows Media Audio format which enthusiasts believe to be indistinguishable from the original source and superior to MP3 format. Further information can be found under the Tool Time category. The auction ends on Sunday afternoon.

Thanks to Dr Lithgow for the correction in price.

3 Responses to An Ebay beauty

  1. dbrmuz says:

    $46 incl. delivery my friend.

    I don’t know much at all about these units-I’ve always relied solely on whatever mobile phone I’ve been using to play my MP3/AAC/WMA audio files-so cannot comment on whether it’s a great deal or not.

    The line-in feature is something I would definitely make use of though.

    • fmdxing says:

      With this cable you could record your audio whilst mobile. You’ll need one of these as well because the Creative recorders use a 2.5 mm input rather than 3.5 mm.

      • fmdxing says:

        One thing I like is the ability to play uncompressed Wave files. Most of my A/V devices will play WMA/MP3/AAC but not Wave. The older Creative recorder I have will play WMA/MP3 only.

